Logan (Quick-Review)

https://www.geeksaresexy.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/wolv1.jpg
Aged like a fine wine

I remember when I first saw Hugh Jackman’s Wolverine. My family loved the first X-Men movie, that I myself hadn’t seen until after this situation, and decided to watch X-Men 2 late one night. All of the heroes were pretty neat, but Wolverine was so cool to me. Not only did he take no crap from anyone, but he had cool claws and a mysterious backstory that elevated him above the other mutants. The best part of that night with my family was when Wolverine went ballistic on the team invading the X-Mansion and managed to slaughter dozens of henchmen that were trying to kidnap children. He was the epitome of bad ass in that movie that elevated that movie to legendary heights. Even as the years went on and the casts changed, Hugh Jackman stuck to the role while slowly evolving with the character. But, alas, all good things must come to an end. In this case, it was with a little film named Logan.

I will not spoil anything about this movie since I believe going in blind can only help your experience. All I will say is that this film is made for not only the hardcore comic fans but for everyone that stuck with Hugh Jackman over the years. He delivers a beautiful performance with a talented cast that help bring his story to a perfect close. The narrative is very meta and can be seen as a commentary on the role of Wolverine over the years from simple brute to complex hero. Though the character is blasted for being over exposed or boring, there is a heart to him that allows Logan to keep longer than anyone expected. His story is not of tragedy, but of hope and redemption. Even if you haven’t been a fan of the most recent X-Men movies or aren’t even much of a superhero fan, I urge you to give this movie a try. It is, without a doubt, one of the greatest emotional experience I have ever had in a movie theater. Give it a shot and I know that you’ll be in for the ride of your life.

Before signing off, I would just like to thank Hugh Jackman for his many years of entertainment. He has put his all into a role that he could have easily abandoned years ago. I wish him luck in his future endeavors and hope to see him in many quality projects soon. And if he ever feels like the world is crashing in on him, I hope that he can remember the lesson of James Howlette’s long journey: there is always a way to find redemption, even when it looks like there isn’t.

Thank you all for your time. I’ve been Superguy, and you’ve been awesome.

https://media.tenor.co/images/de6c0e688a9af01bd44583a59265c4fb/tenor.gif
He’s the best at what he does, but he doesn’t need to do it anymore.

 

Leave a Reply

